Senior Awards Night – 07-Feb-2020

On Friday 7th February 2020, we held our annual Seniors awards night at Worksop College Golf Course. The event provides an opportunity for the Harriers to come together and celebrate the successes of the 2019 as well as recognise not only running performances but also those that have made significant contributions to both the club and athletics in the community. However, amongst all this we also like to take the opportunity to return something to the local community with our Charity Raffle. This year, our chosen charity was the Crohn’s & Colitis UK, and we are delighted to say we were able to make a contribution of £706 to the fundraising cause.

This year had no shortage of success as we awarded sixteen bronze standards, six and five gold standards. We also awarded prizes for those in each age group for club Grand Prix competition as well as a new for this year Track & Field GP (With thanks to James Charter for collating the scoring. For a full break down of the Grand Prix and Standards awarded, please see the end of this report

On the trophy front, we awarded our GP overall Male & Female Winner (Thomas Shaw & Amy Ogden), Half Marathon (Retford Half Marathon 2019) Male and Female Champions (Thomas Shaw and Samantha Marriott), Gerald Story Trophy (First Harrier home at Gerald Story Run), Paul Marriott. Our Sisters on Sunday Vase to recognise personal achievements was awarded to Rachel Ashworth in recognition of the excellent progress she has made since joining both the SoS and the Worksop Harriers, and the Alan Bowman Trophy (which recognises greatest improvement in Age-Graded Percentage at Clumber Park parkrun was awarded to Anna Maddocks who in 2019 ran a best time of 19:05, achieving a simply incredible age-graded percentage of over 85%!

Our Peter Collier Trophy is awarded not for running performance but in recognition of significant contribution to both running the club and advancement of Athletics in general. This year, it was awarded to Mark Hazlehurst, who in the 50 years since joining Worksop Harriers & AC has worked as parkrun Ambassador (helping to set up park runs across Derbyshire & Nottinghamshire, served as a committee member for both Worksop Harriers & AC as well as Derbyshire Athletics. He has also qualified as a Level 3 Endurance, Track & Field Event official, including photo finish adjudication, serving most recently at the highest level in the European Indoor Championship. Finally, Mark also does works for the UK Anti-Doping Agency helping to ensure fair and just competition.

Finally, our Athlete of the Year was awarded to Emily Race. Despite not getting off to an ideal start to the season, Emily showed great attitude and determination to return to top form, tackling training alongside completing her A-Levels, resulting in a successful defence of her English Schools High Jump Title, as well as achieve England Selection for the Cardiff International. Emily went on to achieve her second national title at the English Schools Heptathlon Championship. Emily has completed her school record with a superb four English Schools Titles (two each at high jump and heptathlon) and now goes on to the next stage of her athletics career with a promising start, having already broken the University of Sheffield 60 m hurdles record, whose alumni include Gold Medal winning Great Britain Heptathlete, Jessica Ennis.

Bronze Standards (16)
Tom McLaren – Bronze – 5km
Chris Duncan –Bronze – 400m
Joel Kerrigan – Bronze – Marathon
Savannah Storey – Bronze – Triple Jump
Emily Race – Bronze – Shot Put
Caroline McGinley – Bronze – 400m, 10miles
Jack Feris – Bronze – 200m, Long Jump
Sally Bulmer – Bronze – 5km, 10km
Jake Charters – Bronze – 800m, 1500m
Bryan Cherry – Bronze – 400m, 5km, Half Marathon

Silver Standards (6)
Jack Feris – Silver – 100m
Charlotte Jones – Silver – 10 miles
Caroline McGinley – Silver – 800m, 10km
Savannah Storey – Silver – 400m, Long Jump (Represented Notts in the English Schools T & F Champs)

Gold Standards (5)
Tracey West – Gold – Half Marathon (13 minutes faster than time required for the Gold standard)

Amy Ogden – Gold Marathon (3:15, beating the Gold standard by almost 6 minutes)
Tom Shaw – Gold Marathon (2:37 & first time for many years that we have had a runner in the 2.30’s)
Emily Race – Gold – Long Jump, High Jump (English Schools Champion for the second consecutive year)

Grand Prix Winner – Age Groups

Senior – Charlotte Rushby
V35 – Samantha Marriott
V40 – Amy Ogden
V45 – Pamela Brooks
V50 – Caroline McGinley
V55 – Sally Staveley
V60 – Gillian Shepherd

Senior – Tom Shaw
V40 – Stuart McLuskie
V45 – Jim Staveley
V50 – Christopher Duncan
V55 – John Harrison
V60 – John Hewitt
V65 – Peter Fendley
V70 – Roy Turner

Track & Field Grand Prix Awards

Emily Race (Senior) – 396 points
Kerry Dickinson (Masters) – 74 points
Jake Charters (Senior) – 303 points
Chris Duncan (Masters) – 193 points

Special mention goes to Savannah Storey who achieved a massive contribution of 304 points, enough to win the compeition in most years, had she not have been in compeition with Emily. However, a special mention is deserved to round of a superb season of improvements and achievements!